Top 5 things to do in Singapore

In line with my recent urge to plan another overseas holiday, I thought I would share my experience visiting Singapore. At the end of 2015, I was lucky enough to spend 36 hours in the beautiful and clean city, on route to Thailand.

Whilst our time in Singapore was limited, we certainly made the most it!

Here are my top 5 recommendations if you’re stopping over at Singapore.

thumb_IMG_0357_1024.jpg

GOPR3194.JPG

1. Explore the shopping on Orchard Road.

If there was one thing I truly loved about Singapore, it was the luxury shopping! I didn’t exactly have a huge budget to make the most of, however, I made sure I took notes and tried to reassure myself that one day I’ll be back and I will be able to make the most it (the bank account said no this time round). All of the (window) shopping will make you hungry, so I recommend strolling into one of the shopping centres and finding a hidden food arcade to eat it.

thumb_IMG_0373_1024.jpg

thumb_IMG_0381_1024.jpg

2. Explore your hotel (and relax by the pool!)

The weather was super warm when we were there, so I recommend taking an hour or so out of your day to relax by the hotel pool sip on a cocktail. We were lucky enough to stat at The St Regis, which has a beautiful five-star pool area. Enjoy the all the cocktails your hotel has to offer, but don’t bother ordering a coffee – as you will be disappointed! Unfortunately Singapore just can’t blend a bean as good as us Aussies can!

thumb_IMG_0371_1024.jpg

3. Have breakfast with the orang-utans at Singapore Zoo

After I knew we were booked in for breakfast with the orang-utans, I literally had no idea what to expect! It’s absolutely surreal how close you can get to them, but unfortunately you’re not allowed to touch them. I would suggest heading to the Zoo as early as possible, because by 12pm the crowds were crazy! Luckily, we had seen enough by lunchtime and were ready to leave.

1 IMG_3479 copy.JPG

4. Head out for a nice dinner

If you manage to get a free night in Singapore, make sure you plan a nice dinner for you and your loved one. Coincidently, we were in Singapore on Christmas Day and had a 7-course dinner booked with my partner and his parents. We headed to Sky on 57 by Justin Quek at Marina Bay Sands, which was amazing! Each course was paired with a glass of wine to match – let’s just say I can’t remember what we had for dessert! With exquisite food, comes an exquisite view. We had a table booked right near a window, which overlooked the beautiful marina. If you’re keen for a few more sneaky drinks after dinner, there are tables and chairs outside where you can continue to sip and absorb the view afterwards.

IMG_3527.JPG

5. Take a moment to take it all in.

Whilst our time was limited in Singapore, I tried to remind myself to take a moment to stop and appreciate my surroundings. Whilst we should be doing this everyday (and not just on holiday), it becomes easier when you’re in a foreign country, to switch your brain off from work mode and truly live in the moment. After all, isn’t that what holidays are for?!

Edit IMG_3510.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

